The European Commission has adopted a first decision recognising the equivalence of the audit oversight systems in 10 third countries. This decision paves the way for reinforced cooperation between Member States and third countries which have been declared equivalent, so that they can mutually rely on each others’ inspections of audit firms. The countries assessed as equivalent are Australia, Canada, China, Croatia, Japan, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland and the United States of America.
Click for EC press release.